ContactSite MapSearchNews
Inside Sea GrantResearchExtensionEducationFundingProductsEvents

SC Sea Grant Consortium
287 Meeting Street
Charleston, SC 29401
p: 843.953.2078
f: 843.953.2080
Beach Sweep / River Sweep
 
Beach Sweep River Sweep logo.

Please join us for the 30th annual Beach Sweep/River Sweep!

Most cleanups are taking place Saturday, October 20, but some have been rescheduled to a different date. Scroll down for the list of Site Captains and volunteer for a cleanup near you!



2018 Commemorative T-shirts Now Available!






Connect with us on Facebook Facebook icon

See the SCDNR River Sweep Web site for more information on inland cleanups and results.

Beach Sweep/River Sweep is South Carolina's largest one-day volunteer cleanup event of its kind. Every 3rd Saturday in September, from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m., thousands of South Carolinians clear beaches, rivers, lakes, marshes, and swamps of aquatic debris. The cleanup, organized by the S.C. Sea Grant Consortium and S.C. Department of Natural Resources, has taken place annually since 1988 - when Sea Grant first started it. The Sweep takes place in conjunction with the International Coastal Cleanup, coordinated by the Ocean Conservancy. Once the Sweep is over, the Ocean Conservancy tallies all of the debris data. This data helps us learn the sources of litter so we can stop pollution before it starts.


Why pick up trash?

There's always going to be garbage, right? What difference does it make?

Aquatic debris is dangerous. Seeing the effects of it first-hand, by participating in the cleanup, can demonstrate that. Litter is a danger to our wildlife, our safety, and our economy.

South Carolina is lucky to have such a vast amount of wonderful aquatic resources. We are home to a diverse wildlife population. Our state's economy thrives on the tourism industry. However, if we don't care for our natural resources, they simply won't be there. Can you imagine a future in which your children or grandchildren won't be able to enjoy our beaches? Won't fish? Or boat? If we don't address the consequences of our throwaway, disposable lifestyle now, these grim possibilities could become our reality, experts tell us. Don't let it happen!


Sponsorship opportunities

The cleanup depends solely upon the generosity of its sponsors. The Sweep would not take place without contributions, whether in-kind or monetary. Major sponsors for the 2018 event include: Coastal Expeditions, Magnolia Plantation Foundation, Nature Adventures, Ocean Conservancy, The Charleston City Marina and Boatyard, and Walmart Market #34. If you or your organization would like to sponsor this vital program, please contact Susan Ferris Hill at Susan.Ferris.Hill@scseagrant.org for details. Contributions to Beach Sweep/River Sweep may be tax-deductible. Thank you for your support!


Want to be a site captain?

Perhaps you know of an area that needs attention. Why not coordinate a cleanup for that site? Check the list of sites cleaned below, and remember that not all of the site may have received attention. If your place is not listed, we could use your help. It's not hard; we have site captains who have been with us since the very first cleanup! We provide all the supplies you need, detailed instructions and information, volunteers, publicity, and a free Beach Sweep/River Sweep t-shirt. Contact Susan Ferris Hill at Susan.Ferris.Hill@scseagrant.org, to learn how. There is no better feeling than knowing you've made a difference where it counts.

Have other ideas about how to help? Want more information?
E-mail Susan Ferris Hill or call (843) 953-2078.


2018 Site Captains

If you know the area you'd like to clean, contact the site captain below and join their group! If you want to clean an area that's NOT LISTED BELOW, please contact Susan Ferris Hill at (843) 953-2092 or Susan.Ferris.Hill@scseagrant.org.

North Myrtle Beach
Gregg Barnhill - Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 13
(843) 280-5673
dgbarnhill@nmb.us     Map Link

Bahama Sands beachfront
Anna Bowers
(843) 445-5957
anna.bowers@wynvr.com     Map Link

Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Travel Park - Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 8
Taylor Cook
(843) 449-2733
TCook@mbtravelpark.com     Map Link

Myrtle Beach State Park
Ann Malys Wilson
(843) 238-0874
awilson@scprt.com     Map Link

Camelot By the Sea beachfront - Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 27
Jenn Faro
(843) 445-5936
jenn.faro@wynvr.com     Map Link

Wyndham SeaWatch Plantation beachfront
Tomisina Delile
tomisina.delile@wyn.com     Map Link

67th Ave. N. to 82nd Ave. N.
Mike Williams
Michael.Williams@hgtc.edu      Map Link

40th Ave. N. to 67th Ave. N. - Cleanup date TBD
Shari Carr
(843) 222-6998
sharoncarr@sccoast.net     Map Link

Ocean Boulevard between 9th Ave N. and 12th ave N.
Jessica Hamlin
(843) 916-0888 ext. 3223
hamlin@ripleys.com       Map Link

8th Ave. N. to 2nd Ave. N.
Amanda Sturgeon
(843) 267-4511
amanda.sturgeon@gmail.com     Map Link

Wyndham Ocean Boulevard beachfront
410 S. Ocean Blvd.
Heather Merritt
(843) 281-3318
Heather.Merritt2@wyn.com     Map Link

Waccamaw River – Peachtree Landing to Enterprise Landing
Chris and Jane Ochsenbein - Cleanup scheduled for Nov. 18
(843) 503-3276
jcducati@msn.com    Map Link

Conway
Waccamaw River, Conway Waterfront and boat landings – 2 week cleanup dates TBD
Cara Schildtknecht or April O'Leary
(843) 349-4007
admin@winyahrivers.org     Map Link

Waccamaw River from Little Savannah Landing to Black Slough
Biff Johnson - Cleanup date TBD
(843) 742-0402
biffjohnson29@yahoo.com     Map Link

Surfside Beach
Debbie Ellis
(843) 650-9548
dellis@surfsidebeach.org      Map Link

Georgetown County
Huntington Beach State Park
Mandy Di Bella
(843) 235-8755
hbeachedcenter@scprt.com     Map Link

Pawley's Island beach, creek, marsh, and boat landings
Frank Johnson
(843) 340-1717
fjohnson@wbtw.com      Map Link

Sampit River, City of Georgetown - Cleanup date TBD
Morgan Park to Stewart Parker house
Cindy Thompson
(843) 545-4100
CThompson@cogsc.com     Map Link

McClellanville
Jeremy Creek - Cleanup scheduled for Nov. 10
Allie Kreutzer
akreutzer@creecs.org     Map Link

Berkeley County
Daniel Island shoreline - Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 27
Andrea Kelly
(919) 943-5023
atkgeneral@gmail.com     Map Link

Old Santee Canal Park/Biggin Creek
Adam Bedard
(843) 899-5200 ext. 5589
adam.bedard@santeecooper.com     Map Link

Various boat landings on Lake Moultrie - Cleanups scheduled between Sept. 22 and Nov. 10
Sarah McCarthy-Smith
(843) 719-2383
sarah.smith@berkeleycountysc.gov     Map Link

Dorchester County
Givhans Ferry State Park, Mars Oldfield boat landing, and Colleton State Park
Dave Are
david.c.are.ctr@mail.mil      Map Link

Isle of Palms - Cleanup scheduled from 9:00-11:00 a.m.
Stacey Johnson
(843) 327-5831
staceysusanne@yahoo.com     Map Link

Sullivan's Island
Thomas Sobol
thomas_sobol@nps.gov
Paula Ogden-Muse
paula_ogden-muse@nps.gov     Map Link
Volunteers must register at https://www.nps.gov/fosu/getinvolved/beach-sweep-2018.htm

Mt. Pleasant
Land-based cleanup on the Vickery's side of Shem Creek,
Mt. Pleasant Dock/ pier restroom area.
Hillary Repik
(843) 856-2157
hrepik@tompsc.com    Map Link

Water-based cleanup on Shem Creek
Nature Adventures
Elizabeth Anderegg
(843) 568-3222
mgt@natureadventureschs.com     Map Link

Charleston
Waterfront Park
Edward Evans (843) 762-0625
edwardevans@knology.net     Map Link

Brittlebank Park
Sara Russell
(843) 276-6612
russellsg@g.cofc.edu     Map Link

Charleston-area Creeks, Rivers, and Marshes
Marsh area just south of Ashley River bridge on HWY 17S - Cleanup scheduled for Nov. 3
Pam Ferguson  (843) 437-7513
epidemiologydoc@hotmail.com
Jamie Gillette   (843) 579-7501  
GilletteJ@charleston-sc.gov
     Map Link

Stono River - Water-based cleanup
Laney Gibbes
(843) 300-8514
laneygibbes@earthlink.net     Map Link

Charles Towne Landing - Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 19
Maria Bartholf
(843) 852-4200
mbartholf@scprt.com     Map Link

Upper Wando River, Horlbeck Creek to Little Cat Island
Brad Kerr
(843) 991-2626
bradley@carolinaboatyard.com      Map Link

Folly Island/Folly Beach - Cleanup scheduled for 9:00 a.m. - noon
E.V. Bell
(843) 953-2078
elizabeth.bell@scseagrant.org     Map Link

Kiawah Island
Bradley Schmoll
(843) 819-1071
bradley_schmoll@kiawahresort.com    
Map Link (Beach Sweep)       Map Link (River Sweep)

Lower Edisto River - Water-based cleanup
Marcus Sizemore
(843) 718-9755
msizemore2001@gmail.com     Map Link

Edisto Island - Cleanup scheduled for Oct. 27
Ida Tipton
tiptonseachef@aol.com     Map Link

Harbor Island
Gloria and Charlie Mickle
(615) 414-6100 (Gloria)
gamickle90@gmail.com
(615) 268-3167 (Charlie)
cemickle@gmail.com       Map Link

Fripp Island
Jessica Miller
(843) 838-1516
jmiller@frippislandresort.com      Map link

Hilton Head Island
Port Royal Plantation
Roscoe Smith
roscoe@verusmed.com      Map Link

Folly Field Beach
Jennifer Wells
(843) 715-1025
islandgirl29926@ymail.com      Map Link

Burkes Beach
Carlos Chacon
(843) 689-6767 x226
cchacon@coastaldiscovery.org      Map Link

Coligny Beach - Cleanup date TBD
Phyllis Neville
(843) 681-3646
pnevs56@aol.com      Map Link

Daufuskie Island
Yvonne Clemons or Eileen Pojednic
yclemons60@gmail.com
erpojednic@aol.com       Map Link

Beach Sweep/River Sweep logo


Organized by:   SC Sea Grant, SC Dept. of Natural Resources, and Palmetto Pride logos

 


Last updated: 10/15/2018 11:58:00 AM
Beach Sweep / River Sweep

JUMP MENU

Page Tools Print this page
E-mail this page
Bookmark this page

Coastal Science Serving South Carolina
Copyright © 2001-2018 South Carolina Sea Grant Consortium
Turbulent Flow Image Courtesy of Prof. Haris J. Catrakis, University of California, Irvine
Privacy & Accessibility